In my multisite settings, why is 'Enable administration menus - plugins' always ticked?

I dont want anyone in my network in my multisite installation to see the plugin menu. But when I go to the network setting, the box is always ticked for Enable administration menus - plugin. When I untick it and save, it appears ticked again. Do you know why this is?
Thanks.