Installing WordPress using IP Address and SSL

I'm new to WordPress. Normally I use a proprietary CMS that is licensed to both a domain name and a static IP address. So, from my host, I get the static IP address and use that to build my site. Once site is ready to launch, I point the domain's A Record to the static IP and everything works, even SSL.

With WordPress, nothing is working. I've installed WordPress using the tool Fantastico provided by the hosting company. However, it installed based on the domain name, which is currently being used by the clients current website. I'm seeking to build him a new website, so I'm trying to figure out how to do that. Should I have installed manually using the IP Address? I am planning on using Woo Commerce and am in the process of having the SSL certificate installed on the server, so my second question is about how to make the SSL work for both the domain and the IP Address. Do you know if that's possible? With the proprietary CMS, these issues were non-issues. With WordPress, I'm trying to understand how to best do all of this. Can you help please?

Here is the new site: http://38.111.52.73/

The domain name goes to the old site.

Thank you so much,
elizabeth

• Patrick

Hey there @webdesyne

I hope you are having a great day!

My first recommendation would be to avoid those one-click WordPress install scripts, as they have a nasty tendency to create more hassles down the line than they're worth.

Installing WordPress manually is the best route to take. And it really does only take a few minutes. :slight_smile:
    http://codex.wordpress.org/Installing_WordPress#Famous_5-Minute_Install

Once it's up and running, you can install your SSL certificate as you normally do at your host.

Once the new site is ready to go live and accept visitors, you'll want to redirect traffic from the old one to the new. Here's a great tutorial to get that done: