Ireland does not have Post/Zip Codes but it's a required field..

Hi,

I'm in the finishing stages of building a site for a client of mine who are based in Ireland. They ship only to the UK & Ireland.

I'm setting up the PayPal side of things at the moment and I've noticed 2 very serious problems that I need to try and have resolved ASAP.

Ireland does not have any Post/Zip Codes.

When I'm checking out and at the step "Shipping" if I select Ireland it still asks me for a "Postal/Zip Code".

Ideally the way this should work is that when someone selects Ireland, that it no longer becomes a required field.

If the person selects United Kingdom, then obviously that field would need to be required again.

The other issue I've noticed, under "Store Settings > Payments" If I check "PayPal Express Checkout" I can't under the settings choose Ireland as a PayPal site even though Ireland has a PayPal - https://www.paypal.com/ie/

I'm not a PHP Programmer, so this is something I would not be able to do at all so would these 2 things be able to added in?

I had an issue before where the Northern Ireland counties where not added in and I was given code to add it into a file which was then added to the next official release.

Thanks in advance
Tyler

• PC
    • WPMU DEV Initiate

Hello Again Tyler,

I tried to look but could not find a proper solution to this.

I have asked our lead developer to chime in on this thread and provide his advise on this issue.

He should be here sooner than later.

Cheers, PC

• bluesplat
    • WPMU DEV Initiate

I need to update my original post.

My client has just told me now that they only ship to Ireland & Northern Ireland. 2 different currencies. 1 has postcodes and the other doesn't.

They only accept €uros so this isn't an issue. The postage costs are the same throughout Ireland & Northern Ireland.

What I now need to do, is to rename all Ireland so that it says "Ireland & Northern Ireland"

Thanks
    Tyler

• bluesplat