I've been following this to the letter with no result

I've been following this excellent WPMUDEV tutorial for a couple attempts so far, with no luck. I've got myself a droplet at Digital Ocean for just $5 while I'm trying to get my own VPS up and running for the first time. I've never done this before, and I really want to learn, and be successful without a shared hosting environment anymore.

This tutorial: https://premium.wpmudev.org/blog/wordpress-multisite-wordpress-nginx/

It's great and all... but I follow it to the letter, and I don't even deviate from the 'standard' names and placeholder names (like using wordpress as the username), but still it doesn't work for me.

Are there any server studs around here that's willing to diagnose this issue for me, or better yet... I'd even pay ya to set it up like this woman writes.

Thanks for your time.

- Charlie

• Charlie Pryor

Just as a general update to the situation (which I'm now calling quits on for now because it's given me a headache):

First off... All through the tutorial, /var/www apparently didn't even exist, as a directory. I had to mkdir to get it to even exist before downloading Wordpress files (I left a comment on the article). Okay. So now the directory exists, and I've downloaded wordpress files into it...

I'm at the point in the tutorial right before you install Wordpress. My main issue was that I got this far, and there is no direction or way in which to access the Wordpress "Create wp-config" screen. I also tried to install phpmyadmin (right when she said I could, using the instructions from the other WPMU DEV tutorial that she linked to) and was unsuccessful in being able to get that to come up in the browser (gave me 404 error).

Then I read that nginx has changed from /var/www to being /var/html. Great. Wonderful.

So I found a tutorial that would allow me to get phpmyadmin moved from where it was, to the new location it should have been in.