LDAP registry page with independent Blog name options

First: My apologies if this is already somewhere on the forum, newby, slack appreciated.

Can someone provide a plug in with some "how to" that allows developing and maintaing an LDAP registry for users and allow the user to name the blog by topic.

I am developing http://www.history-of-surfing.com and want to have blogs as sub directories based on location or area of interest ie

http://www.history-of-surfing.com/ocean-city-nj

This is a similar thread from the WPmu forum

http://mu.wordpress.org/forums/topic.php?id=9919

• BobSgt

Thank you for your response. I am new at this, so I will play around a bit and see where it takes me.

Suggestion: It would be great if there was a one-on-one "mentoring" program, where for a price, a new person could work with someone to reach their goals using WPmu. This would also help train more WPmu users that can in turn help at community level stuff.

Example:
    Here are my goals, here is my site, any suggestions?
    Response; add this plug-in consider this theme add this capability.
    Done and working, how would I achieve this capability.
    Response, here is some script...
    etc..

I am trying to get launched as a "bootstrap" can't commit 25K+ to get the prototype done, going through the forum is good, but slow. And ultimately need to be smart enough to manage the site once it has gone live.

• James Farmer

Howabout an extended set of videos like this?

http://wpmudev.org/getting-started-with-wpmu/

I've been tossing that about as a possibility for Premium for some time now and any recommendations for topics / structure / approaches would be great :slight_smile:

Mentoring is a nice idea, but realistically not that attractive for the mentor (where's the contract) and the mentee (you don't get the support you would from a proper contract).