MarketPress - Inventory limit and variation on 1 product with different user rates

Hi,

I signed up to use MarketPress. It's my first time using it.

Could you please tell how to do the following:

1 product with 10 in stock
Sell for $100
Sell for $80 to student (don't worry about verifying the student)
Pay deposit $50

Basically three prices to buy the same product (not really a variation in product but in price) and only 10 in stock. So each one added to the shopping cart would reduce the stock.

If I create them in product variations and set each one to 10 then 30 of them can be sold. Which is not what I want, there are only 10 of them. I can't set them to a limit of something like 5,2, and 3 because I don't know how many people will purchase with deposit or full.

If there is no way of doing this out of the box then I can give a go at recoding it myself. But do you have any suggestions on the best way? It needs to charge the lower price and reduce the stock count for the shopping cart.

Maybe using the discount code? Would that be the best way or is there another way? If you think the discount way would be the best way do you have any documentation or pointers on the discount code used in MarketPress?

• Michelle Shull
    • DEV MAN’s Apprentice

Hi Anthony!

I think your best bet for the reduced student rate is to offer a coupon code, or a similar deal, rather than using a product variation. That would prevent the stocking issue you're seeing, and make it simpler on the back end to manage. Here's a tutorial video (it's part of a great series on MarketPress, totally worth your time to check it out.) on setting up discounts and coupon codes: http://youtu.be/2CWqICFrUGE

Ideally, you could do the same for the deposit, but then you'd have to follow up manually to get the remainder of the payment, as of right now, MarketPress isn't set up to manage follow up payments.