Membership: Limit Group creation on BuddyPress not working

How does the “Limit Group creation” work on BuddyPress?

The site I am using has a custom template and we have hard coded a link to “Create Group” in our menu. I have limited the group creation to 1 per user, however, it appears that users can still create unlimited groups.

What can be done to make it 1 per user? Do we have to remove the hard link from “Create Group”? I am not a developer, but we have a developer doing the work, I just want to know what they have to do to make use of this limit group creation feature, or if there is possibly some kind of bug.

Best,

Michael

• Mason
    • DEV MAN’s Sidekick

Hiya Michael,

I haven’t specifically used this feature of Membership before, so I’ve asked the devs to come by and take a look at this with you. I’m not sure how the rules are implemented in this case.

Thanks for your question and someone should be with you soon on this :smiley:

• shiftnet
    • WPMU DEV Initiate

Hi there, I’m still looking forward to an answer on this question: how does group limitation work on the membership plug-in? Is it a bug or do we have to set up our system in a particular way to use it?

Right now I have group creation set to 1 only per user but there doesn’t seem to be any problem creating more than one so they are not limited.

I need an answer here as this is an important feature for us and a helpful feature for the membership plug-in to be useful for buddypress.

Best!

Michael

P.S. Great plug-in by the way!

• Barry
    • DEV MAN’s Mascot

we have hard coded a link to “Create Group” in our menu. I have limited the group creation to 1 per user, however, it appears that users can still create unlimited groups.

That will be part of the problem – the membership plugin can’t remove the button if it’s hard coded.