Membership Plugin - HAving trouble with a free membership, actually locking down pages/posts.

Ok, I have installed, activated, and set access levels and subscription levels for the membership plugin. I am attempting to do a free sub, so once you register, it drops you to the Public access level, and then there are certain users (Who I manually select and set) who are at a higher level of access.

I am attempting to lock down a certain page and even though I set it as a negative for the public access level, a public person can see it. So can the higher level account I manually created.

I realize this is probably not enough detail to diagnose. Please realize I am a total absolute newbie to wordpress, and am trying. I swear. :slight_smile:

If you don't mind, start off by telling me what you need to help me diagnose this.

Side note- the instructions on the side of the plugin page, I followed. They're not the best instructions, but I believe I followed them faithfully.

I got confused, as the instructions seem to imply that categorization and/or using the positive/negative bits would lock down or open up access to specific pages and posts.

help?

Thanks!

Joshua

• jmarpet
    • WPMU DEV Initiate

I have "Public" and "Forest".

I have specified those levels in Membership->Access Levels.

I checked with the test users I set up. I manually set one of them to public, and my admin user to forest.

Public is the level I want newly signed up users to default to.
    Forest is a manually set level for very few users.

(Long story why)

Anyway, new users are not defaulting to public, even though I set it in Membership-options-stranger settings.

And when I log in as test1 (a manually set to public user), I can still see a Forest only page.

Again, please realize I'm an idiot in this stuff. :slight_smile:

Hopefully, this answered the question you asked?

Joshua

• jmarpet
    • WPMU DEV Initiate

Ah wait, I did not answer it.