Membership & pretty permanlinks cause 404

I have tried searching the database and there seems to be lots of 404 pretty permalink related issues. Sorry if I haven't been able to work it out from those...
Specs:
WP 3.8.2
Download Membership today.
Current Avada theme version
Running the following plug ins:
bbPress
Gravity forms
Hide my site
Acuity booking appointment tools
Set up a blog on a page using blog shortcodes.
Everything worked beautifully....I reactivated the Membership plug in (started early and realised I needed to create the content to protect!). As soon as I enable the pretty permalinks. I lost all my pages except the home page. So will this plug in work without pretty permalinks? ( it seems to me from reading that this issue has been around in some form or another for a long time)Or is there another solution?
Thanks for your help!

• Lisa

Hi Jack,

Thanks for replying.
    Please don't laugh but I'm new to all this I can see the .htacess file -when I go to view (it uses notepad) the transfer fails. Is there another way I can get it? Also does it make a difference that I have since deactivate membership and been installed and playing with another membership plug in?

Um Jack its 2.36am in my part of the world so I am off? I will post the file when I read your response later in the morning. Thanks

• Jack Kitterhing

Hi there @Lisa,

Hope you're well today, I'm afraid the file didn't attach.

It should be visible in cPanel > file manager > public_html, if you open it in file manager and copy the contents into a normal text file, then paste the code here in a reply that would work :slight_smile:

It's because it's a hidden (dot file), which technically means it's a system file.

If you'd prefer I'd be happy to take a look if you could send FTP or cPanel details to contact(at)wpmudev.org with the subject line Attn: Jack Kitterhing

Thanks!

Kind Regards
    Jack.

• Jack Kitterhing

Hi there Lisa,