Membership registration not working (bug)

Hi There,

I'm having trouble to get the registration page up and running. This is the message I get after filling in the fields:

Notice: Undefined variable: user_id in .../plugins/membership/membershipincludes/classes/membershippublic.php on line 1710

Can you please take a look at it. Looks like a workaround has been implemented but this line uses $user_id which has not been defined in case of an error.

Thanx!

• NorbyOnline
    • Flash Drive

Hi Paul,

Happy New Year!

I think we have PHP5.3, according to the website of our hosting provider.

Well, the line in question is not the workaround, it's the surrounding code. I'm a Front-end developer, not a PHP one, so I don't fully understand how it works.

I think this code may cause the problem, which is right above line 1710:

// Hack for now - eeek
    									$anyerrors = $error->get_error_code();
    									if(is_wp_error($error) && empty($anyerrors)) {
    										// No errors so far - error reporting check for final add user *note $error should always be an error object becuase we created it as such.
    										$user_id = wp_create_user( sanitize_user($_POST['signup_username']), $_POST['signup_password'], $_POST['signup_email'] );

if(is_wp_error($user_id) && method_exists($userid, 'get_error_message')) {
    											$error->add('userid', $userid->get_error_message());
    										} else {

I think we end up in the else, leaving $user_id not an user but an error.

FYI: We use multisite and buddypress and want to use some of your plugins.

Kind regards,
    Martijn

• NorbyOnline
    • Flash Drive

Hi Tom,

Looks like it works as long as WP can create a user, then you go to the next step. But if e.g. the e-mail address is already used the error occurs. This should of course result in a user friendly message near the form or fields but now you see the form again like nothing happened (unless debug is on).