Membership2 updated and deactivated itself, blanking all data

I just logged into the site and wondered why M2 had deactivated itself. I had a message saying update successful and to go to network upgrades.

It had cleared all of my user memberships, what happened? I definitely didn't select to update it. Why did it update and deactivate itself? What happened to all my data?