Moving from 16 Databases to 256 Databases

So I installed Multi-DB and set it up for 16 databases…..and have outgrown it. What is the process to move up to 256 databases?

• jayvega
    • Flash Drive

Hi Licigamarketing,

I am working with Multi-DB myself. I curious what was the total sites and how well did Multi DB distribute the load? What became your limiting factor for your databases? How many sites/blogs did each database top out at?

I am new at this myself, so I would be interested on knowing so that I properly configure Multi-DB correctly from the beginning as well.

• liciagamarketing
    • Design Lord, Child of Thor

Jay for me,

I have over 800 sites. I created 16 DB, and it split them pretty evenly.

Although I will state that the VIP blog didn’t work at all! Tried it 4 times, failed every time. Needed to go ahead and move some files manually, not a tedious task, but one that needed to be done.

That being said, I am anticipating quite a bit of growth. A minimum of 10x growth, possible 100x growth over the next 12 months.

I am in the midst of having my theme optimized, and am moving to a dedicated lightspeed server to ditch the old apache interface.

I might actually just take all the smaller databases, back them up into 1 large database and do the process all over again….and create the 4000+ databases just for kicks.

• jayvega
    • Flash Drive

Liciaga,

Hey, thanks for all the feedback. Had you ever considered using the Mutli-DB Remote Host in your new setup? I was thinking of dedicating a Remote IP to all my DB so that I could off load them to a dedicated server down the road. Any comments?

• liciagamarketing

If I was going to offload my DB’s…..I would probably do 4 dedicated servers….right now, all my sites use some static images that I’m thinking of serving through s3 & cloudfront anyway. Plus using cloudflares $200/m plan for DDOS protection as well.