Multisite: 404 error new subdomain

I first posted this on the support forum but didn’t get my problem resolved. I am a WordPress novice. We have a site for sharing information about a sport. We added Multisite so we could enable clubs to have their own site as a subdomain of ours. (We are hoping to have something like edublogs, but don’t anticipate reaching that size.) The multisite conversion seems to have worked and I have the dashboard to create and view our other sites. I have set up wildcard subdomains per the instructions provided by JustHost. When I create a subdomain, I get the prompts and responses indicating the subdomain has been created. When I attempt to access the dashboard of the subdomain, I get a 404 error. If I attempt to access the subdomain URL, I get a message from JustHost saying there is no content.

Here are the contents of the .htaccess file:

RewriteEngine On

RewriteBase /

RewriteRule ^index.php$ – [L]

# add a trailing slash to /wp-admin

RewriteRule ^wp-admin$ wp-admin/ [R=301,L]

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} -f [OR]

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} -d

RewriteRule ^ – [L]

RewriteRule ^(wp-(content|admin|includes).*) $1 [L]

RewriteRule ^(.*.php)$ $1 [L]

RewriteRule . index.php [L]

Thanks for your time and consideration!

• Rupok
    • Support Ninja

Hi Kirk Foster

I am so sorry to hear that you didn't get your problem solved from your previous post.

From the code inside your .htaccess file, it seems like you have very important information missing. Please go to "My Sites > Network Admin > Dashboard > Settings > Network Setup" page. There you will be provided with two code blocks and you will see instructions where to paste those code blocks. Please see the attached image for reference.

Please follow those instructions and I believe, your problem will be solved. If not, please let us know. I'm confirming that this time you will get your problem solved. Don't worry. I'll put more emphasize on this thread.