MultiSite Pros & Cons

I just realized the plugin I wanted most only works with Multi-Site install (the support plugin).

I know nothing about Multi-Site (yet).

I'm running 5 Wordpress blogs.

For those who have used Multi-Site and single installs, is it going to be in my best interest to upgrade now? (And take the time to learn the system, and convert everything over?)

What's the pros and cons I need to consider?

Is anything going to not work on the Multi-Site install that works currently on the single site install?

Lastly, will I be able to develop locally on a MAMP server using wordpress Multi-Site?

Sorry for the total newbie questions. I'd rather just get some specific answers now before investing hours only to find Multi-Site isn't going to cut it for my needs.

• Gabe

Hey Magi, great questions. I’ll do my best to answer them for you as I’m familiar with single site, multisite and multisite on a dev server.

For those who have used Multi-Site and single installs, is it going to be in my best interest to upgrade now? (And take the time to learn the system, and convert everything over?)
    Yes. It’ll be a bit of work in migrating the websites, but it’ll save you time in the long run with one WordPress installation to manage, especially if you’ll be adding more sites in the future. Once you get past the install, the learning curve isn’t too steep. Just setup your main site and export/import your subsites. You can easily map the domains with WPMU’s domain mapping plugin: https://premium.wpmudev.org/project/domain-mapping/

What's the pros and cons I need to consider?
    With multisite you only have to manage/upgrade one set of themes, plugins, etc. Also, some hosting services limit how many WordPress installs you can have, but typically offer unlimited multisite subsites on your install.

Is anything going to not work on the Multi-Site install that works currently on the single site install?