Multisite, Sub Domain and SEO

Greetings!

I have a couple of questions to ask. First, in order to have a sub domain name like blog.yoursite.com, do I need to have multisite installed? In order to make blog.yoursite.com to work?

Second, which one would be more effective in page ranking if I have blog.yoursite.com or yoursite.com\blog? Will that make any difference?

Thanks,

Brad

• karks88
    • Site Builder, Child of Zeus

To answer your first question, you don't need to have multisite installed to have a subdomain. The process for creating a subdomain really depends on your web host. Some have an automated way to create one in their account control panel, others may require a little bit more work. You'll want to contact their support department to find out exactly how to go about it.

I'm not an SEO expert so I won't attempt the second part :wink:

• Kimberly
    • Champion of Loops

Hello Brad!

First, in order to have a sub domain name like blog.yoursite.com, do I need to have multisite installed? In order to make blog.yoursite.com to work?

Yes! and you will need to enable wildcard subdomains with your host, you should be able to find some documentation with them on that.

https://premium.wpmudev.org/manuals/wpmu-manual-2/creating-a-network-to-enable-wordpress-multisite/

Second, which one would be more effective in page ranking if I have blog.yoursite.com or yoursite.com\blog? Will that make any difference?

Sub-Domain structure is more SEO friendly for your entire network. Your site will be considered more or less separate domains if you go subdomain route :slight_smile:

Best,

Kimberly

• Bradley
    • Flash Drive

Hi Kim,

I followed the instruction you provided me the link and apparently, it's not working somehow. When I created (the sub domain for blog already created in the control panel) the new site from the wordpress dashboard (Add New Site page) and all I got is Missing or invalid site address. I had "blog.yoursite.com" down.