Need for dedicated IP address for e-commerce WordPress site

Hello,

I recently became a member of WPMU DEV and I'm just starting out with my first WordPress site. So far I've only registered a domain name with Gandi. Have been checking my hosting options and I have a problem choosing the right one: was thinking of going either for Bluehost as it provides 1-click install and auto-updates of WordPress, or the Simple Hosting plan of Gandi, considering I already have a domain name with them.

The thing is my site will have an e-commerce side as well. I've been reading up on this and they say you need a dedicated IP address with SSL for an e-commerce site. My question is do I really need this for a simple e-commerce site?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,
Lum Osmani

• PC
    • WPMU DEV Initiate

Hello Lum,

Greetings and thanks for posting on the forums.

Choosing hosting can be tricky as if you choose a hosting which is not optimized for WordPress, you might run into a few issues.

When your site is small, it doesn't really matter where you are hosting it, but even if it's a small e-Commerce solution, it will scale with time and would get more resource hungry. So choose wisely.

As far as a SSL certificate is concerned, you will need a dedicated IP if you want to use it on your site.

However, if you are using PayPal or any other gateway which does not process the transaction on your site, but takes the client to the gateway site, its already protected with SSL, so the info is safe anyway.

So, now the question is whether you need an SSL certificate or not. If you are going to use PayPal pro or Stripe, you will need a SSL certificate. If not, then well you don't need it :slight_smile:

I hope that helps. Please feel free to ask if you have more questions

Cheers
    PC
    Sales &Support

• nasta
    • New Recruit

Hi Pranaya,

Thanks for your detailed response. I'm afraid I still don't understand.