Need some advice on how I should set this up.

I'm fairly new to building BuddyPress sites, and I'm just not sure how I need to get this set up.

What I need to do is have two different kinds of users. One is an au pair (think nanny or babysitter), and the other is a family. Either can register and add their profile. They will both need different profile fields. Any visitor can search these users as well as read all pages and posts (no content restriction), but they cannot contact one another unless they have a paid membership.

We'll use private messaging for contacting so that it's all handled on the website, not through email.

Any tips and direction on this would be great. Thanks.

• DavidM
    • DEV MAN’s Mascot

Hi!

Let's see how we can get this started! Membership should definitely be able to handle the crux of what you've described, quite easily too.

The only complicated part would be the profile fields being dependent on the user type (membership level in this case). I think that would require a bit of custom work surrounding the BuddyPress core, though perhaps others around here may have ideas on that.

So to begin with, I'd say you'll want to setup the levels with only 3 membership levels (possibly only 2 rules depending on how au pair and family will work) as follows:
    Stranger - BuddyPress Private Messaging rule in the negative rules
    au pair - BuddyPress Private Messaging rule in the positive rules
    family - BuddyPress Private Messaging rule in the positive rules

And I believe you'd want to have 2 subscriptions to somewhat match those membership levels:
    au pair
    family

I'm not sure what the differences would be regarding the subscriptions (pricing/duration) though.

With that you could simply setup your gateway of choice and activate everything (all the membership levels, subscriptions and gateways used). You'll also want to "make public" the subscription levels and set the Stranger level in Membership > Edit Options.