Need to send an email each time an event is created or modified

I need to be able to send an email to all of my subscribers each time an event is created or modified. I know that we can select a newsletter to be sent out when an event is created, but we create events often and don't want to create a new newsletter for each event. I would like to be able to use the Event variables to list location and name of the event in the email that gets sent. I am pretty new to PHP but it seems like there might be a way to create a function that could send the email and a filter that could be used to call the function each time an event is created or modified.

• aristath

Hello there @Phil, I hope you're well today!

You will have to custom-code this..
    Something like this should work:

<?php

// SEND EMAIL ONCE POST IS PUBLISHED

function custom_notify_new_post($post_id) {
    	if ( ( 'publish' == $_POST['post_status'] ) && ( 'publish' != $_POST['original_post_status'] ) ) {
    		$post = get_post( $post_id );

// Only continue processing if the post is an event
    		if ( 'incsub_event' != $post->post_type ) {
    			return;
    		}

// Get an array of users
    		$users = get_users();

foreach ( $users as $user ) {
    			// Get the user's email
    			$email = $user->user_email

// The email subject
    			$email_subject = "A new event has been published.";

ob_start(); ?>

<html>
    				<head>
    					<title>New event at <?php bloginfo( 'name' ) ?></title>
    				</head>
    				<body>
    					<p>
    						Hi <?php echo $author->user_firstname ?>,
    					</p>
    					<p>
    						A new event has been posted: <a href="<?php echo get_permalink($post->ID) ?>"><?php the_title_attribute() ?></a>.
    					</p>
    				</body>
    			</html>

<?php

$message = ob_get_contents();

ob_end_clean();

wp_mail( $email, $email_subject, $message );

}
    	}
    }

add_action( 'publish_post', 'custom_notify_new_post' );