Need Words of Wisdom

Hi there,

I have been working on my site for the past 6 months, I finally feel like I have everything in place to start promoting it.

But I have a few final questions. Firstly, about hosting, I have read all about dedicated hosting, VPS and that this is what we should have for multisite, but when I asked my host about it. Now they have been incredibly helpful from the start, but they said that I was fine on the shared hosting and that a VPS wasn't needed yet, that I should just go up though their packages as I need to. I have had no problem with my hosting and have even added the multi databases without issue. They are a local (Irish) host and seem great, but are they right?

Secondly, I have decided not to get a SSL certificate, as I now have 3 domains using the multi domain plugin, and would have to go for a wild card subdomain certificate for each (very expensive) and I am using paypal exclusively for marketpress (chained payments) and Supporter. Do you think this is a safe option, not getting the SSL? Should I get one for my main site?

Thirdly, every so often my site gets exhausted. I have allocated 64M in .htaccess. I have read about this php.ini file. I don't have one. Can you just create that file yourself? Is going over 64M excessive?

Finally, thanks for all the great advice!

• Timothy Bowers

Now they have been incredibly helpful from the start, but they said that I was fine on the shared hosting and that a VPS wasn't needed yet, that I should just go up though their packages as I need to.

You can start with shared hosting, the problem comes when you bloat an install with to many plugins and themes all inserting data in your database and including to many php files increasing the memory needed. Or of course as you grow because of the amount of resources used.

Most of the time the problems are not with space or bandwidth but they can be a cause for concern as you grow.

This is what I posted on other threads: