new blog template and membership plugin.. users carried over when they shouldn't be

New blog template Version 2.1 | with membership plugin Version 3.4.4.2

I deleted users from the blog template and then created a new blog
I unchecked copy users over
network/admin.php?page=blog_templates_main
The users from the template site show in neither profiles.php nor in Membership's all members admin/admin.php?page=membershipmembers

BUT

when one of the users visits the new blog, his last membership setting from the blog template is now applied to the new blog.