New WPMU DEV user wants to know the best way to upgrade/ migrate my WP MU sites

Hi, Im a new WPMU DEV premium user.

I have an existing WP install hosted on my own hosting package (with NetRegistry).

My WP install is a MU (multi network) installation and I currently use a plug in to create a network of networks - each network is 'tied' to a separate domain and I use is an Addon domain in my hosting package.

Currently my WP version is 3.6.1 and when I try to upgrade to 3.7x most of my sites on the network get archived.

I joined WPMU DEV so I could use better and supported multi network plugins and get support from the experts.

Just looking for your best advice on how to migrate my current installation to WP 3.8 and start to use some of the WPMU plugins and themes.

• PC

Hello there Glenn,

Greetings and thanks for your email and welcome to the club of WordPress Goodness

Can you tell me more about your setup please ?

My WP install is a MU (multi network) installation and I currently use a plug in to create a network of networks - each network is 'tied' to a separate domain and I use is an Addon domain in my hosting package.

Which plugin are you using for the multi network setup ? How are you trying to upgrade WordPress. Manually or Automatic upgrade ?

Do you have any plugins which are not compatible with the latest WordPress version ?

First of all, I will suggest you to take a full backup and then make sure that you do not have any plugins which are not compatible with latest WordPress release. If there are, disable them before trying to upgrade.

Please advise.

Cheers, PC

• Glenn

Hi PC,

thanks for your reply

sure, happy to tell you more about my WP MU installation

1. Plug in for MU - WP Multi-Network (version 1.4) - update to 1.5 available but have not installed it yet

2. How am I upgrading WP? - I am clicking on update via the WP admin panel (it was telling me 3.7x was available, now its telling me 3.8x is available)