newbie has probably installed WP incorrectly

I have installed 2 WP sites in the past 3 days. Both behave similar. Both do not load the front page graphics - the spectacular rolling slicing fx "showcase", but it did load the static picture front page when I themed "yoko".

BTW The only way I can change a theme is within wp-admin / wpmudev has no effect... at least for me.

So either "showcase" has a bug, or I am repeating the same "instal" mistake twice... being a newbie, I could do with some help.

• PC
    • WPMU DEV Initiate

Hello @johnjz

Greetings and thanks for posting on the forums.

First of all, Welcome to the club :slight_smile:

That might be a problem with the install/theme issue however I will need to find out with you that what is wrong.

First of all, how did you install the showcase theme ?

How did you activate it ?

What is the link to your sites ?

Please advise.

Cheers, PC

• johnjz
    • Site Builder, Child of Zeus

I read through your manual / how to set up / but it was quite a lot to read / so I realised I could instal via Softaculous (although this short cut may be the problem :slight_smile:

http://otmamto.com/wpmu/
    installed using Softaculous - named db wpud - multisite - latest WP 3.61 (maybe)
    tried to get to know the system / yours and WP
    installed "showcase" as you can see / but it's missing images1,2 ,3 etc. but they are in the images folder so we don't see the fx slicing as the images do not appear.

I installed WP a second time / with same result!

Loaded "yoko" / seemed to be ok / but I am not yet familiar with WP

I activated showcase via http://otmamto.com/wpmu/wp-admin/network/themes.php / I could NOT activate using wpmudev!!

Thank you !

• PC
    • WPMU DEV Initiate

Hello @johnjz

Thank for writing back.

installed using Softaculous - named db wpud - multisite - latest WP 3.61 (maybe)
    tried to get to know the system / yours and WP