One theme, multiple domains

I'm new to this forum and the plug-ins, so please forgive me if this has been asked before.

I have been creating a theme for two months now which I had planned to license to clients by offering them hosting service with the use of the theme while they hosted with me. Really, the idea is for them to use the theme as their website and have email through the domain name. I had planned to manually create a domain for each client, install WP, install the custom theme and custom plug-ins I have created, etc.

The customer needs to be able to own their own domain name (xyz.com) which shows my theme, enter their own content easily like WP does, and create email accounts, receive and send emails from the domain.

1. Can I create a wordpress MU site that does that? Do I just need to upgrade my existing, test site to multi-user and then add the domain-mapping plug-in?
2. Should the multi-db plug-in be installed from the get-go?
3. What about the multi-domains plug-in - when should that be used?

Thanks,

Andrew

• Mason

Hiya Andrew,

First up, welcome to WPMU DEV!

From reading your questions it sounds like you're in exactly the right place

I think a WordPress Multi-Site is the best solution here. The advantage of doing it this way is that each of your websites can be managed through as single install. That makes upgrading and overall management much easier as you'll have a "Super Admin" login to go between sites easily.

I'd take a look at our documentation on Multisite here:
    https://premium.wpmudev.org/wpmu-manual/

Meant to be read it order, but skip around if there's content there you're already familiar with.

You're existing test site should be fine for moving to a multi-site install. You're running WordPress 3.0.1 right?