Plug-ins & settings to use for opitimum rankings with WPEngine

Good day....
I am in the process of rebuilding my Wordpress site with new hosting from WPEngine. Unable to use many of the plug-ins I'd used before because of the WPEngine rules. I am curious what others are using who've run into the same issue.
Prior to migrating my site over too WPEngine. I'd been listed number one on Google, since starting the site on HostGator about two years ago. But there appears to be plenty of room for improvement at this point. According to the test scores I have received since the migration. So with that being said, I am open to any and all advice. On the settings and plug-ins others are using to get top rankings and page test scores.
Be aware that one of the reasons why I switched hosting companies, was in an attempt to get my site to load and respond instantly.
Please be patient and keep in mind that I am not very experienced. But also keep in mind that I have a very good thing going, and it's time for me to step up my program. Regardless of my experience level, I have no choice but to go for it. And that my friends is why I have become a member here.
Thanks in advance!
Take care,
Mark

• Nastia

Hello Mark , I hope you are doing well!

Thank you for your question!

To optimize your site and achieve better rankings, try the Hummingbird plugin. It is working well on wpEngine host provider.

Once the plugin is installed, run a performance check, once the plugin will scan your site it will show suggestions how you can improve your site score.

Please see the detailed instructions here:
    Make Your WordPress Site FLY with Hummingbird

Also for better score and faster site loading, please try the WP Smush Pro plugin. The plugin resizes and compresses images with almost no loss in quality.

Let me know if you have any more questions!

Kind regards,
    Nastia

• Sajid

Hello Mark,
    Hope you are doing good today