Pluggin installation

Hi.
I am new here but not new to WP or WPMU though I have not used it for over a year. But I am not a programmer.

I have some problem with WPMU DEV installation. My question is:

How do you know where to upload the respective php files and folders into WP or WPMU when there is NO INSTALL.txt or README in the package you download?

I already asked this before, and the advice was to :
1) go read installation page on the pluggin download page.
I already did - the problem is: the installation steps are general. it says, where to create mu-pluggin directory, followed by how to use ftp to upload, and then follow instructions from INSTALL.txt or README. (NOTE THAT THE PLUGGIN I DOWNLOAD DO NOT HAVE INSTALL.txt or README)
After that the instruction went on to talk about the various features of the pluggin and how to activate or use them.
So - how do I install that pluggin? (example: membership1.04)

2) Use live support/chat
I joined WPMU DEV knowing fully I am unlikely to be able to use this feature as I am located on the opposite end of the globe. Looking at the times only confirmed what I already knew - though I did check a few times but chatroom is inactive.

3) Use forum
So here I am.

Please forgive me - I am never good with forums, preferring private emailing, as I am very prone to asking really silly questions esp where software is concerned.

Thank you.

• Mason

Hiya tukkae,

Welcome to WPMU DEV and sincerely, thanks for posting! :smiley:

1. If there is any plugin you'd like some specific help with we're happy to provide answers. We're working on updating quite a bit of our documentation to provide clear instructions for each plugin. If you'll tell us which plugin you're working with right now, we'll gladly help ya in this case.