Plugin Combo for Upfront and Membership Fees

My project requires the collection of an upfront fee plus a monthly fee. I'm also thinking about offering discounts and coupon codes in the future. It appears that membership 2 pro and marketpress commerce can handle each requirement separately. Can this feature requirement be managed on either/or?

BTW I love your platform. I'm new to the game and I can't imagine doing this without these plugins and your awesome support.

• Adam Czajczyk

Hello Randy,

I hope you're well today and welcome to the WPMU DEV community!

If I follow you correctly, this all could be achieved with Membership 2 Pro solely :slight_smile: The plugin supports multiple memberships and discount coupons and even "private" memberships. All the paid memberships are charged upfront.

Here's an example.

Let's say that you aim for a following scenario:
    1. user can sign up for a membership that and that costs $100 one-time fee plus $50/monthly
    2. you'd like to distribute discount coupons among them
    3. additionally you'd like some "long time members" to be charged discounted price #25

This would be a solution:

1. Create a "standard" membership set to "One payment for finite access" (1 month) paid "one time fee" of $150; set this membership as "public"
    2. Create a "standard" membership set to "Recurring payment" with "Payment Frequency" set to "1 month" and price of $50; this membership should be set to "private"
    3. On "Payment options" settings page for that first membership (see step 1) set value of "After this membership end" to "Change to membership 2" (where "membership 2" is the name of that second membership (see point 2).