Private vs Deactivate Subscriptions

Hi

A quick question: What is the difference between making a subscription plan “Deactive” and “Make Private” (see screenshot).

What I would like to do is remove a subscription from being displayed on the registration page (ie, no new subscriptions on this plan) but still have the members currently subscribed to this plan to still be able to access content and be charged. Which one should I choose?

Or, what happens if I move members from one subscription plan to another? How will the PayPal subscription be handled?

Thanks
Hamish