Pro Sites turning sites off after trial

I have pro sites installed. I have a 30 day trial of the pro level, but there is also the default free level. However, when the 30 day trial of pro expires, it downgrades you to nothing and puts up a payment required screen. I would rather it downgrade you to the free level - is that possible? I checked the settings and I can't see anything obvious.