problem with child.css, some style declarations not used

Can you provide a simple example of setting the style for a textwidget ul li element in the home page sidebar? I'm a newbie at actually making styles work; this is my first production website.

I tried a lot of combinations but I get only some of the declarations. I can observe and confirm in firefox (via web developer view style information) exactly which declarations are used and which are not. For example, if I specify in child.css:

#sidebar li {
display: block;
list-style-type: disc;
margin: 2px 0 2px 0;
padding: 0 0 0 15px;
border-left-width-value: 7px;
border-left-style-value: solid;
border-left-color-value: #cccccc;
}

Firefox reports:

http://test.greenstems.org/wordpress/wp-content/themes/bp-scholar-child/_inc/css/child.css
#sidebar li (line 25)
{
display: block;
list-style-type: disc;
margin-top: 2px;
margin-right: 0pt;
margin-bottom: 2px;
margin-left: 0pt;
padding-top: 0pt;
padding-right: 0pt;
padding-bottom: 0pt;
padding-left: 15px;
}

The border declarations are missing. Why would that be? Furthermore, Firefox also reports:

http://test.greenstems.org/wordpress/wp-content/themes/bp-scholar/_inc/css/typography.css
#sidebar li, #footer li (line 152)
{
list-style-type: none;
list-style-image: none;
list-style-position: outside;
text-align: left;
}

Why would typography.css override child.css? Both are imported from the same style.css file (which I have not changed.

Thanks in advance.

• linuxarchitect

Ok, I see in a css validator the errors regarding the border declaratations; I don't understand it yet but I have something to track down.

Why so many validation errors in the stock css files? I assume because of non standard attempts to support different browsers? It sure makes finding a "real" error hard. For example, is this something to worry about?:

URI : http://test.greenstems.org/wordpress/wp-content/themes/bp-scholar/_inc/css/comments.css
    52 Parse Error }