Q&A Plugin: Custom Theme and Plugin Not Displaying Well

I am new to WPMU and just purchased Q&A plugin. I have a Flexx Theme and the default layout does not work with Q&A.

1. One of your instructions was to simply disable the default plugin CSS, add the following line to your theme's functions.php file: add_theme_support( 'qa_style' );

This did not work. See http://debbyeubank.com/questions/ask/. It moved sidebars below and seemed to change the Q&A tabs (Questions, Answers, etc.). I left it this way for illustration purposes, but this code will need to be removed.

2. Your other instruction was to copy the php files from default-templates into your theme folder and start customizing. I have no idea how to do this. I am not a coder and am very concerned my theme code will get messed up.

I did manage to find the plugin/editor/q&a plugin files (this is new to me - I didn’t even know this existed):
• qa/default-templates/ask-question.php
• qa/default-templates/css/general.css
• qa/default-templates/js/init.js
• qa/default-templates/edit-question.php
• qa/default-templates/edit-answer.php
• qa/default-templates/user-question.php
• qa/default-templates/archive-question.php
• qa/default-templates/single-question.php

Which plugin file is the “php files from the default-templates”?

Secondly, what do you mean by “copying these into the theme folder”?

I am not a coder and do very little to change css (color code change, text size/font – simple things). I am very concerned I will mess up my theme trying to customize for Q&A plugin. I really don’t want to change any theme coding. Can you assist, I’d like to use your plugin, but I definitely am not a coder and do not want to mess with theme coding?

Otherwise, I will just need to cancel my membership and ask for a refund. I have several clients that I had wanted to use this plugin for, but this customization may be way over my head. Please advise.

Thanks!
Debby

Philip John

Hiya and welcome to WPMU DEV!