re-orientation to 4.7.2

i have just had an upgrade to 4.7.2, after running a very old version into the ground. it seems most of the content has survived the shift but i'm having trouble re-orienting myself to the new environment. i'm using a default theme, which is ok for now, and have made some rudimentary changes to the template but have got stuck on being able to make changes via editing files. i used to be able to ftp new files but not sure know how to do it. i have been trying to sort things out via the forums but if their is a gentle soul willing to hold my hand and get me started i would be grateful. i have some basic experience with html, css and php but can pick stuff up pretty quickly. my site is merriaction.org cheers, david

• David
    • WPMU DEV Initiate

hi luis, thank you for your willingness to help me. you have confirmed very quickly what i thought was the issue - i do not have access to my site via ftp. at least i don't think i have. i'm unsure of how to do this as the site is being hosted by, i think, wpmudev as part of edublogs. i was able to ftp files back and forward in the previous release but am not sure how to do it again. many thanks, david

• Ash
    • WordPress Hacker

Hi there

I have just talked to the team, and they informed you should be able to login in your cpanel via http://merriaction.org/cpanel (ignore SSL warning). After logging in to cpanel, there should be FTP option that you can use, reset or even create a new one.

Also, in cPanel you can use the file manager option, which is web interface of FTP feature where you can upload/download/modify file directly into server.

Hope it helps :slight_smile: Please feel free to ask more question if you have any.

Cheers
    Ash

• David
    • WPMU DEV Initiate