Recent Global Posts: Featured Image and Custom Fields?

Hi there. I'm a newbie here to hello to you all.

I'm playing about with the Recent Global Posts plugin and was wondering if there was a way to:

a) Return the Featured Image of posts/custom posts;
b) With CustomPress, return custom fields;
c) To what extent can the layout of the content be changed? The documentation only shows Avatar, Title and Text., which is a bit limited. As well a custom fields, the ability to add a Read More button would be helpful as I found this helped improve page views.

Thanks. Gavin.

• Luís

Hi @gavingwebb,

Hope you're doing well today and welcome to the WPMUDEV Community!

Regarding to your questions:

a) The plugin doesn't display images out of the box currently. But you can do it by editing the plugin code. The following thread should hopefully get you going.

https://premium.wpmudev.org/forums/topic/featured-image-in-recent-global-posts-widget

b) Following the above question, try use the functions "get post custom values" or "get post meta":

https://codex.wordpress.org/Function_Reference/get_post_custom_values

https://developer.wordpress.org/reference/functions/get_post_meta/

c) The plugin only have those options, we need to change it to show other features.

Regarding to the Read More button, you can try add this code in wp-content/plugins/recent-posts/recent-posts.php:

$html .= '<a href="' . network_get_permalink() . '" >' . 'Read More' . '</a>';

below of:

$the_content = network_get_the_content();
    $html .= substr(strip_tags($the_content),0,$tmp_content_characters);

I hope this information has been helpful. If I can help you in this or other questions, please let me know!

Cheers, Luís

• Gavin

Hi again. I've played about with the php file and got the Read More link sorted - that was easy.

However, not being much of a coder (which is why I use plugins) and after a few hours I can't get the Featured Image element to work.