Remove A semicolon from shortcode

Hi,

I've recently implemented your private messaging on a classified listings theme. So that when you're on an age page the sidebar shows the shortcode. However the button shows "> below it (see screenshot aswell). And I'm not quite sure what went wrong.

My code:

<button class="btn btn-default btn-lg berichtbutton"><span class="berichtbutton" href="<?php echo $pmshortcode ?>"></span></button>

As for what's in my string:
<?php $pmshortcode = do_shortcode('[pm_user user_id="'. get_the_author_meta( ID ) .'" subject=""]'); ?>

Now I'm an absolute beginner in coding so it might just be me making a dumb mistake. Kindly awaiting your reply!

• Ken Kimbrell

Hello Amarildo-

It appears you have an extra quote and closing tag ">

See visual representation below:

After closer inspection, it does look like your code is not properly concatenated. I would try this code instead and see if it works.

<button class="btn btn-default btn-lg berichtbutton">

<span class="berichtbutton" href="' . <?php echo $pmshortcode; ?> . '"></span>

</button>

Let me know how this works for you!

Take Care,

Ken - WPMU DEV Support

• Amarildo
    <?php
    /**
     * Ad listing Sidebar template.
     */
    $pmshortcode = do_shortcode('[pm_user user_id="'. get_the_author_meta( ID ) .'" subject=""]');
    ?>

<!-- right sidebar -->
    <div class="content_right">
    	<!-- Reageer button -->

<span class="berichtbutton"> <a href="' . <?php echo $pmshortcode; ?> . '"></a></span>

</button>

<div class="gegevensbox">
    		<ul>
    			<li><span><i class="glyphicon glyphicon-user"></i> Adverteerder: </span><a href="<?php echo get_author_posts_url( get_the_author_meta( 'ID' ) ); ?>"><?php the_author_meta( 'display_name' ); ?></a></span></li>
    			<li><span><i class="glyphicon glyphicon-calendar"></i> Lid sinds:</span> <?php echo appthemes_display_date( get_the_author_meta( 'user_registered' ), 'date', true ); ?></li>