Setting Up a Paid Membership Site

Hello all,

I'm in need of some general advice on how to set up my Wordpress Multiste website. Let me preface this by saying that I am a COMPLETE newbee at coding and the like.

I want to create a magazine/community website for women making major life changes. There will be a free level and three paid levels - Standard, Premiere and Elite. The paid levels allow members to create blogs, participate in the Buddypress community, and access member-only content. Paid memberships will also give members access to upgrades such as premium themes, plugins, etc. The paid membership schema I'd like to use is a set price for monthly billing with a three-month minimum for membership.

All that being said, I was wondering
what is the best way to make this happen. I currently have Membership and Pro Sites installed but I'm not sure how to configure them to make them do what I want them to do. Any advise, suggestions, input would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks so much for great plugins and a great site!

• aecnu

Greetings cindye,

Thank you for this great description of the challenges you are facing trying to set up your own Membership site.

You are now officially stepped into the web development arena and are a web developer.

I must admit that your development idea is of a skill level a lot higher then what you have represented yourself to have, and the only way to get that skill level higher is by doing it of course.

Throughout this process backup often before every major change and after every successful change, this will help you to quickly overcome the inevitable mistakes that even the most seasoned of us developers make.

You may want to employ two things for doing this, one is the backup which should be available in the control panel of your hosting account, and the other would be the Snapshot plugin which I would personally use much more often in between developing session.