Should I choose a WPMU DEV template over the one I've recently purchased?

Hi there,

I'm new to WPMU DEV and almost as new to WordPress and BuddyPress.

I have extremely ambitious plans to build a not-for-profit/nonprofit website for Australian organisations that may grow to 5,000,000+ members.

I want a great template that will work for both WordPress and BuddyPress and am now concerned that if I go with the Templatemonster template I've purchased I might regret it further down the track.

So, as I'm yet to install that template, should I hold off and choose a WPMU DEV template instead?

Thanks.

• DiggiWebDesign
    • Design Lord, Child of Thor

Which template did you purchase? Can you link us to it?

Such features you desire from WPMU DEV plugins etc..may or may not not be compatible with the template, especially if you plan to use BuddyPress. That is why there are so many themes available to you, as they are designed for these things specifically. Any theme could be 'coded' to do whatever, but to be rational most are built for 'this or that' and there are many templates already built to handle Buddypress available to you as a member.

I would start with what you own as a member to avoid the need of further customization of the template you bought.
    What license did you purchase with the template? These answers can help staff with your questions once they arrive.

5,000,000+ members?
    What is your domain name?
    What kind of non-profit services will you provide?
    We all want to know what the big site is going to be about, care to fill us in?

BTW, I'm just a fellow member, staff will reply asap, they come around as fast as they can!

• MichaelScott
    • Site Builder, Child of Zeus

Thanks for your input and advice.

It sounds like it would be best to hold off on using the Templatemonster as, after checking with the site, they do not warrant the performance of the template in regards to plugins ... so I might chalk that decision up to inexperience.