Should I just start over with a new install to create a new network?

Hello,

I have been planning the launch of a network that will allow people to have their own site/channel to live stream live trainings where they can interact with their viewers/students. I started a site that is being hosted through GoDaddy. I cannot say that I am a web developing expert. I simply enjoy making the sites come together. So, I am not 100% sure on everything I need to make this work.

In speaking with a GoDaddy support team member, I was informed that it was basically "illegal" in a sense to do live streaming from my shared hosting account. So, I know I need another option for that.

I am just not sure what options I should consider at this point. I do know that I want to create a Multi-Site where the name of the instructor comes before the domain name, be able to create a directory for people who visit the site to locate instructors based on what they teach, for each site to replicate the original site with the push of a button or simple action by end user, and for each teacher to be able to control their own live streams.

Can someone offer me some insight in regards to getting started with this project?

I do have a multi-site set up in my current wordpress install which is hosted with GoDaddy. I have not done much work to it at all because I did not want to put too much work into it, then have to start over.

Best regards,
Phe

• Michelle Shull

Hi, Phe!

A shared host would definitely be insufficient for running either a multisite network or doing live streaming, both of which require a certain amount of resources to work properly. On a shared host, you're sharing your server with up to dozens of other sites, so if you're using all the server's resources, their sites may come down.