sidebar visibilty filtered by custom taxonomy

Hello,

I'm trying to figure out if this plugin can help me with a particular set up that I need for a client.

We're looking to have different sidebars for each section. Sections are organized using a custom taxonomy.

I see that I can set a sidebar to subsitute another one when the viewed page (actually a post) is within a specified post-category.

Is there a way to add the option to filter by my custom taxonomy, in order to swap the sidebar only if the page is in a specified "section" (term of my custom taxonomy).

I can code, so if you tell me what to do I can edit the plugin code and/or add code snippets.

thanks!
Andrea

Michelle Shull

Hi, Andrea!

First off, I'm not a coder, so I'm not sure I can help re-write the plugin, but I think we should be able to make it work without touching the code. That's a good thing, because it would be a pain to add changes each time Custom Sidebars Pro updates, which is pretty frequently.

Can you explain a bit more about how you're using the custom taxonomy? Is it working in the same way as a category (hierarchical) or as a tag (non-hierarchical)? Do you have parent and child "sections"?

The easiest option, from the info I have now, is to set the sidebar at the post level. Since each item in your "sections" is actually a single post, I'm assuming they're created with the post editor? If so, you can select the sidebar you want that post to have right in the post editor.

Looking forward to hearing back from you!

Andrea

Hi Michelle,
    thank you for your reply.

the "section" taxonomy is for "pages" post-type.
    it's hierarchichal, and only 1st level terms, no childs.

I've already spotted the fact that I could just set which sidebar I want to use in each single page editor, but we have a lot of pages, so that's going to be a bit painful..