Site breaks after activating privacy

Hello All,

After activating Multisite privacy in a Network and then at the site level selecting "Only registered users of this blogs can have access" and the visiting the site I am prompted to login (as expected) and I can log and get the home page however the site is broken. None of the site's links work, they all return:The requested URL /groups/ was not found on this server.

Ouch!

Setting privacy back to open does not fix the problem. This is not a production site so this is not the big a deal, but I would like to fine out why! and fix it.

I tested this on two site in two different networks, same result.

~eric

• Paul Barthmaier
    • Code Wrangler

The way multisite works is htaccess controls everything with rewrite rules. When you add a caching program, it will change the rules by adding stuff to the htaccess. I'm not a pro here, but the possible issue I can envision is if you have multiple domains on separate networks with a single IP. The site may resolve on the home page of the root directory, but when you are looking for something other than that, the htaccess doesn't know how to write the proper rule for the page you are looking for.

• ericslangley
    • The Incredible Code Injector

I don't have a caching program installed and accessed the site(s) from multiple computers with both Chrome and IE, same result.

I even enabled Multisite privacy on a second installation of WP/BP Multinetwork and got the same result, broken pages.

Not sure what the issue is.

~eric

• Sue
    • Recruit

Hi Eric

Sorry you are having trouble with this.

Are you able to give us access to one of the two installations so we can check out what is happening? We'll need FTP and super admin access. Can you send the email to sue@edublogs.org if you are fine for us to log in and check.

Thanks!

Sue Waters
    WPMU DEV Support

• ericslangley

This is an update to my previous post...