Slow site even after running all of the recommended fixes

Thank you for the great product. I was easily able to install it, download the recommend plugins and use your bulk tool to fix my image sizes. All of that being said I am still seeing a download time of 4 - 7 seconds on my site and it just feels slow as I move around. Do you have any other step by step (I am new at this) guidelines for speeding up a site? The page I am having the most trouble with is http://www.gypsysols.com/destinations/

Katya Tsihotska

Hello Grant

Hope you are doing fine today!

(1) optimize images (I thought the smush plugin would do this)

It may relate to the images size. Please, make sure that you turn on "Resize original images" and set at least suggested parameters. Like at the picture below, but you should have your own suggested parameters:

(2) Eliminate render blocking Java

You can resolve it using Hummingbird. Go to the Hummingbird > Minification and set needed configuration for each file. But be careful with "Footer" configuration, it may break your site layout. The best way is to do it for each file separately and check if everything going fine with your site.

(3) Prioritize visible content

This score is very hard to improve unless you have custom-coded your theme and plugins with these optimizations in mind from the beginning. More about this issue you can read here: https://developers.google.com/speed/docs/insights/PrioritizeVisibleContent

(3) leverage browser caching (I thought hummingbird or WP Rocket would do this)

You can set Browser caching using Hummingbird. Just go to the Hummingbird > Browser Caching. Also, there you can read some explanation and recommendation how to setup Browser Caching on your server. Usual, it recommends setting expiry from 7 days to 1 year.

(4) enable compression (smush?)