Small business hoping to get up to speed quickly

My two websites are http://www.silver100.com and http://www.silversafety.com. I have gone as far as installing the WordPress framework with the default theme on each site: http://www.silver100.com/blog and http://www.silversafety.com/blog

Now, to get up and running as quickly as possible.

I have zero experience with WP and first I need to decide if it’s even practical for me to do this myself with the help of the forum, or if I’ll need to hire someone to do it. Tough decision since my budget today is next to zero and so is my time availability.

FWIW, I created those two websites myself, though it took a good six months to learn Dreamweaver and get them built. I only have maybe six to twelve hours to dedicate to this blog project right now. (Okay, I realize it will inevitably be more than twelve.)

Yet I need to get it done. I have a huge marketing opportunity at hand. A key news site in my field has offered to direct attention to us if we produce an informative piece we’re working on (Silver Safety site). It will be a one-time shot as far as the media push. It will be a bit controversial due to the subject matter. From all I’m told, a blog is more conducive to seeing that proliferate on the web than just putting it on a web page.

FWIW, we have substantial funding likely coming in in the coming weeks or months, at which time I can and will hire a professional to take over the blog design and implementation. But today is today.

So, here we go.

What I have to decide on first:

1. Whether to tackle it myself for now. I only need it to be “good enough” for now.

2. Whether to keep it on our current web hosting company’s server like is it now (http://www.futurequest.com — great company we’ve been with for years) or have it hosted on a specialized server (I suppose the URL will still look like our domain — I’m a little more comfortable with keeping it all on our current hosting company’s server).