Smartcrawl vs Yoast SEO : Duplicate content with Weglot

Hello dear community,
I got something for you, forgive me if I just made a mistake on my own I'm not an expert. :sweat_smile:
So, this is what happened: I asked for a SEO audit on a multilingual website using the plugin Weglot for the auto/manual translations. To set the meta description I originally used Smartcrawl. The result of this audit was a lot of duplicate contents due to the meta not translated (during the crawl only) for the different languages. Then I decided to deactivate Smartcrawl, I switched to Yoast, made a quick setting and I asked for a new audit. Not a perfect score but "duplicate content" gone.

Have you heard about this before?

• Christer Hansson
    • Memento Mori

Interesting post :slight_smile: What language are you using the plugin in?

Also I am huge Yoast "fan" :wink: Well the plugin is heaven and hell. Heaven, because for me it has been the far best plugin for Wordpress sites and SEO. But, all the updates causes me much concern, and I really cant understand the need to update so many "small" versions in that short of time.

I have started to look at the Smartcrawl plugin from WPMU DEV, but only tested it on one site.

My question is this the, who uses the Smartcrawl on a regular basis, and is it compared "good enough" against Yoast?

/Chris

• Julien
      • Flash Drive

I used Smartcrawl and honestly it did the job. It is easy to use, comprehensive, there is no conflict with other plugins etc...
      I like Yoast too and I tried squirrly. Which one is the best I don't know. What I can say it's that WPMU support is way more reactive than Squirrly. But "maybe" Yoast does a better job with a multilingual website at the moment. And "maybe" the small version made the difference with Weglot. lol

Julien

• Predrag Dubajic
    • Support

Hi Julien,