Styling my MarketPress

I'm really struggling to figure this one out. I see there are "themes" that you can apply to the store itself, but when I change between the provided themes, nothing seems to change in my "Store".

Also, where can I find a list of short codes and their attributes?

I'd like my store's homepage to look similar to this: http://teatra.de/marketplace
Where the latest products are on the /store page and a button to "view all" or something.

I assume by changing the "theme", I could actually have the categories show up with a picture instead of just a text link?

Sorry for being such a noob :slight_smile:

• Saunt Valerian

Don't worry about being a noob, I am too! Note that two months ago, I had no idea what I was doing. I got help here and from other resources, but I was able to do the process I describe below.

If you are using a WPMU DEV theme, you may be able to get help in this from the staff here.

Anyhow, the Tea Trade marketplace is built not using shortcodes, but using a wordpress template file. MarketPress is built to call php template files that use specific names.

If you create a file called mp_global_products.php, you can copy into it the contents of another template file in your theme -- maybe single.php, default.php, or blog.php -- look through your theme files to see what there is. All themes can be different, while there is some standardization, theme developers have been known to get creative with Template File names.

To understand what a template file is look here: http://codex.wordpress.org/Stepping_Into_Templates

After building the template file that I needed, it was as simple as adding in the MarketPress php snippet into the file exactly where I needed it to display my marketplace. It went through several renditions as MarketPress moved through its versions, but I think it is finalized now because earlier we were waiting on pagination.

This is the code I use to display my marketplace in the template file: