Subscription based on number of posts

I’ve created a custom post type. I’d like to limit subscriptions to a number of posts. For example, a single subscription would expire after 2 posts have been published in this custom post type. Is this possible versus only having subscriptions expire after a time period?

• aecnu
    • WP Unicorn

Greetings nwtech and Zyniker,

@zyniker Thank you for your input and you are absolutely correct that this would take significant custom coding to enact. From what I understand that nwtech is asking they want the membership subscription limited by how many posts which makes the above post including Pro Sites not applicable – but that is what I understand they are saying and could very well be wrong.

@nwtech Anything is possible when one is a competent coder with a vision and the will to get the job done – and I am not a coder.

At best this is a feature request so I will move it to that section and alert the lead developer to the request.

It might take a bit longer than useful but alternatively, you could see if there’s a developer available at wpmu jobs who could get onto it right this minute

Thank you for being a WPMU DEV Community Member!

Cheers, Joe

• NWTD
    • The Incredible Code Injector

Thanks for the fast response! I might need to look into having this customized for the time being after I discuss these options with my client.

Do I need to move the topic to the feature request section or has that been done already?

• NWTD

We are interested in limiting how many posts a subscriber can view, not how many that a subscriber can write.

Think in terms of a punch card. You purchase a 10 punch card for 10 shots of espresso at the local coffee house. Each time you visit, you get your shot of espresso (post, custom type) and one “punch” gets deducted.

• NWTD

Re: days versus posts