Suggestions for the structure of a membership real estate site

I do a lot of work with themes for wordpress and I have a couple of spectacular niche domain names that I've been sitting on for years.

I want to build a membership site where the agents can sign up for an annual membership, have access to a private forum/mini social network where they can communicate, etc. Once they are members, they can add listings, though not as much detail will be necessary as a traditional site.

Anyway, what I'm getting at is that I'm trying to figure out the best way to run this, e.g. what plugins to use, whether to use buddypress or mu, what good membership plugins there are, any mapping plugins that can aggregate the listings, etc.

I'm pretty new to WPMUdev and I'm curious how others would approach this. I am pretty committed to using WP because I adore it and I'm very comfortable working with it, but I don't have much experience with buddypress or mu.

• Norm
    • Flash Drive

So I'm just thinking aloud here...

I think multi-site with buddypress? Give each agent their own blog/site that they can market individually as well as the ability to add listings.

Again, pardon my naivete with the multi-site, but if I were to do it this way, is there a way for tiered memberships? Like the agents getting their own blogs but allow the public to sign up only to get updates/comment on the blogs?

• Arun Basil Lal
    • New Recruit

Hello Norm,

Welcome to WPMU Dev! Hope you have enjoyed the experience so far.

Well, there are many ways you could pull this off, and I guess there is nothing called an ideal solution. I have been a fan of WordPress and other related products and has been working with them since 2008, so let me see what I can contribute to your project.