Superadmin exposure in BuddyPress & security concerns

This question has been asked before in wpmudev more than once but no definitive answer has been given.

I have a multisite with BP and the superadmin name is "Community Manager" but that does not hide the superadmin username (let's call it "xyz123"). Because of this I cannot hide the superadmin's username from the members because it shows up when I author a post or I get a twitter-like mention "@xyz123".

Why is this security issue not built in BP, or at least why isn't there a plugin that hides the superadmin from the member's list.

If I use this plugin I could create an administrator user (not superadmin) and give him the community manager role, and then hide the superadmin from the rest of the users.

You make life much easier for hackers when you expose the superadmin's username.

I'm new to BuddyPress and relatively new to WP, so maybe I'm missing something. Any ideas?

• aristath

Hello there @Al and welcome to the WPMU DEV Community!

First of all, I think you've misunderstood something...
    BuddyPress is not our plugin.
    BuddyPress is an open-source project you can get on https://buddypress.org/ and can be found on the WordPress plugins repository here: https://wordpress.org/plugins/buddypress/

In WordPress it is best if you don't use the superadmin for day-to-day operations. You should create another account and only use the superadmin when needed.

Other than that, exposing the username is not a security issue. WordPress itself exposes usernames and there's no problem there.
    If you're worried about hackers trying to bruteforce-attack your site to find out the superadmin's password then you could simply use this plugin to block them: https://wordpress.org/plugins/limit-login-attempts/

I hope that helps!

Cheers,
    Ari.

• Al

I did not misunderstand anything. I know BuddyPress is not a WPMUDEV plugin. I know it's open source, and I read quite a bit about the history of its development.