Taxamo + Stripe: Any way to use taxamo generated payment form or checkout button instead of stripe?

Hi again,

As I told you before, the current Taxamo integration is not really compliant to EU rules (at least with the Stripe gateway). This might be sufficient for people outside of the EU, but not for us customers inside.

Is there any way to replace the Stripe checkout function with the equivalent features of Taxamo as documented here:

https://www.taxamo.com/doc/payment_providers/stripe/subscription_form/

and here:

https://www.taxamo.com/doc/payment_providers/stripe/checkout_button/

This is not a feature request, I would be ready to replace some portions of the code myself, but it seems I am not enough of a dev to find the right portions.

This would help me tremendously.

Best,
Jonathan

• Jose

Hi there @Jonathan,

Hope you are doing well today.

I must admit that I'm not an expert myself neither in Taxamo API nor VAT related matters, so please apologizes beforehand if I'm missing something here.

As per what I understand in your other thread, you only need to add a way for the user to set his billing Country.
    In that case, the easier way would be to modify the method determine_country() in the file wp-content/plugins/protected-content/app/addon/taxamo/class-ms-addon-taxamo-api.php in order to grab the country information from the checkout form or wherever you stored it.

Is there any way to replace the Stripe checkout function with the equivalent features of Taxamo as documented here

If you still want to try this approach, you will have quite a good amount of work to do. It would require to create you own gateway or maybe modify the Stripe gateway view to render the Taxamo form/button instead of the Stripe button.
    I'm not totally sure though about how the integration between Taxamo and Stripes works on the background, and how would your site be notified of payment status. I guess all this information is provided in Taxamo docs.