[The Hub] Enhancements to Hub handling of site errors

Please add a httpS setting to the Hub so that all access uses the correct protocol.

Looking at my access logs it seems the Uptime ping always uses http:// to access our sites, and then after an error 301 (Moved Permanently) it goes to the httpS protocol. I'm not sure but I think this might be responsible for some Uptime down/up notices.

I don't know if this is the best solution but I think a simple checkbox for each site in the Hub would eliminate this one issue, where all queries from the Hub would then use httpS.

Taking this a bit further, when the Hub gets any kind of server error from our sites I think it would be helpful to see that in a log. Consider a single Hub log that includes all errors being returned from any site, with an option to temporarily remove logging for any given site in development where we expect errors. Temporary, because we don't want to accidentally leave such logging off for any site.

Thanks!

  • Ash
    • WordPress Hacker

    Hello Tony G

    The url to check is decided when uptime is first enabled. So if the site was not https in the hub when enabled it will redirect every time. You can disconnect and reconnect to hub.

    The idea of logging is great. Though we currently have global log system, it is segmented per site. So, I am marking this as a feature request so that other members can join in the discussion :slight_smile:

    Have a nice day!

    Cheers,
    Ash

    • Julian
      • Fake Russian Bot

      So if the site was not https in the hub when enabled it will redirect every time. You can disconnect and reconnect to hub.

      Just to clarify, disabling and then re-enabling Uptime isn't enough? The site needs to be disconnected and then re-connected to the Hub?

    • Tony G
      • Mr. LetsFixTheWorld

      Are you sure we won't lose backup settings, have the key reset? What about reports? Other plugin settings?

      Without reassurances I'm not comfortable with ever deleting anything, and then hoping that recreating it will return the original settings. In terms of code and data, you have no reason to maintain config settings for a site after we delete it. If that data is not deleted, it might indicate an error in the hub code ... this could go either way.

      • Ash
        • WordPress Hacker

        Hello Tony G

        If you don't forcefully reset your key when you are not connected, your backup won't be lost and reports will be there.

        So you can just logout from Dashboard > WPMU DEV > Settings and then you can login again. This won't get deleted your backups. And the other remains there as well. Just make sure you don't reset the key, it won't auto reset.

        Have a nice day!

        Cheers,
        Ash

Thank NAME, for their help.

Let NAME know exactly why they deserved these points.

Gift a custom amount of points.