Timeout users on ssl sessions in multisite

It looks like google is expecting every site to use ssl in near future and I don't know what impact this has on multisite performance etc.

Starting a new multisite project I have setup on a server with plesk 12.5 using apache-Nginx. I have the free certificates from Lets Encrypt. I have a test bed using "domain mapping plugin" that has multiple domains.tld each having their own Lets Encrypt certificate.

1. Do I need a "user timeout" plugin to conserve resources ?
2. Are there any specific server and / or plugin settings for using ssl for performance?
3. Are there any problems with wpmudev plugins for multisite with multiple domains using multiple ssl certificates?
4. Are there nginx directives for this configuration?

Thank you.

• Predrag Dubajic

Hi wpmudevorg24,

Hope you're doing well today :slight_smile:

I'm no SSL expert but I'll do my best to help you out here with these questions :slight_smile:

This would mostly depend on the server you running on and the package you have for your hosting.

2. Are there any specific server and / or plugin settings for using ssl for performance?

Perhaps this could help with server setup:
    http://www.lognormal.com/blog/2013/06/22/setting-up-ssl-on-nginx/

To reduce load from Domain Mapping settings you can disable Cross Domain login, Verify domain's DNS settings and Check Domain propagation before mapping options.

3. Are there any problems with wpmudev plugins for multisite with multiple domains using multiple ssl certificates?

I don't remember any complaints so far, if you do hit some issues let us know and we'll gladly help.

This would be best asking your hosting provider as they should be able to give you best suggestions for their servers.

Best regards,
    Predrag

• Lee

I am sorry for not making myself more clear.