Turning a Pro-site over to a client?

When I create and setup a site for a client on my network, I always use my email and set my self as the admin, so that they do not get any notices from the network in the process of development. The problem I am finding, is that when I turn the site over to the client, I continue to get all the pro-sites email notifications. Even though I have set them as the admin and deleted my self as a user of the site, I still get the pro-sites notices. Is there a way to get this issue fixed? Am I missing something in setting them as admin?