Tutorial: How to Customise Marketpress Product List

Hope I'm not being too cheeky posting this, as I'm a complete noob and I hope I'm posting it in the right place. I've just spent the last couple of weeks trying to customise my MarketPress product list and having spent ages on the forums trying to get my head around it, so thought it might be useful to document the process all in one place.

You will need these open:
marketpress/marketpress-includes/template-functions.php
marketpress/marketpress-includes/themes/Themeing_MarketPress.txt

If you are looking for a grid format, download Framemarket and check out the gridmarket theme for pointers or this grid plugin for marketpress might be useful.

Step 1: Create a custom theme
Follow the instructions in /marketpress/marketpress-includes/themes/Themeing_MarketPress.txt to create a your_name.css file.

Step 2: Create a marketpress product list template for editing
Marketpress defaults to page.php as your store layout (each product is treated like a post on your main blog page). If you use a custom blog template and have changed column widths / sidebars etc, it may be better to start from your current template instead.
Copy your default blog page template (either page.php or your custom one) and save as mp_product_list.php in your theme folder.

Step 3: Create a basic product listing format
Most themes will clearly show you where your post is. On my theme (Themia Lite) it uses commenting and a div class:

<!--Start Post-->
               <div class="post"> //You can add styling here to alter your css for this template only
//All product info will go here
               </div>
               <!--End Post-->

You can either build your product listing from scratch, or just tweak the existing format. If you wat an existing format to work with, ThePath kindly put me on the right track here, by providing a format that pulls the same info as default settings. Inside your post tags try:

<div id="prodimage">